Welcome to L.A. Models!

26 Jun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A modeling agency can be a very mysterious place.   Many times they are only distinguished by a small sign on the front of the building.  I remember the first time I went to New York to visit agencies.  It was a nerve-racking experience because I had no idea what to expect.    Some buildings were walk-ups, others had fancy elevators and door men.  Each time I would walk through the door I would try to stay calm, but the reality of being in a place of such power was a bit over whelming.

L.A. Models is quite the contrary, don’t let the “high security” gate fool you!  The first time I went to meet my bookers I was a little bit nervous…gated entry, small sign and white walls.   It was enough to throw anyone’s stomach for a loop.  But the friendly faces behind the exterior put my nerves at ease, and now I enjoy having to pop in for a visit!

I thought it would be fun to share some pictures of what the agency looks like, because for many people it is hard to comprehend.  All of the bookers from the various divisions (Women, New Faces, Runway, Men) sit at long tables spread sporadically throughout the room.  They each have their own computer and telephone that they work on throughout the day.  Some even come to work equipped with their very own Shrek water bottles (as Kimberly so beautifully modeled off for me) 😉

There are walls devoted to “comp cards” for all the models on the different boards.  These are what the agency sends out to clients when they are looking to book someone for a job.  We also carry these with us when we go on g0-sees or castings so the client can put a face with a name.  Can you spot my card in the picture!?

You never know who you are going to see or what will be going on when you go to the agency.  Today I was pleasantly surprised that Robert Pattinson had stopped by to leave me a little note (see picture in slide show)….

I wish! One of my bookers, and good friends, Sarah F, used to run the New Faces division at the agency Rob started out at.  Apparently from time to time people still request him for special bookings, so he sent over a signed copy of his latest comp card.  What a sweetie!

Feel free to send over any questions you may have about going into an agency, whether it be for a meeting or open-call.  It may look scary from the outside, but once you get past the exterior, there are some great people waiting inside!  You never know…maybe Rob P will have stopped by for a visit 😉

6 Responses to “Welcome to L.A. Models!”

  1. CHELSEA June 26, 2010 at 2:22 AM #

    i love it sooo true everything you said!!! work it girl!! ❤

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) June 26, 2010 at 2:32 AM #

    Good luck w/ your new blog! Drop me a few comments here and there and lmk how things are going with it.

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall June 26, 2010 at 4:12 AM #

      Will do! Thanks for the response 🙂
      I have actually been trying out some of your recipes and plan to post about them soon…the raw vegan chocolate is genius!!

      xx
      Sarah

  3. Margaux Brooke June 26, 2010 at 7:22 PM #

    I love your new blog Sarah, and for a minute I thought Rob P. left that signed comp card for you! SO JEALOUS! But I like your blog I’ll add it to my blog roll and will be reading all your new posts! Wish you the best!

    xoxo
    Margaux

Leave a Reply

