What did you want to be?

14 Oct

Tonight I am having trouble falling asleep.  I think lately my problem has been that I am working out too late and then trying to fall asleep.  My body is revved up and ready to go, and all I want to do is get some shut-eye!  Tonight however something on Facebook caught my eye.  Someone set their status as … “imagine if everyone became the first thing they ever wanted to be as a kid; there’d just be a bunch of ninjas running around,  princesses riding ponies & quarterbacks throwing touchdown passes to pirates.. What would you be?”

This question made me chuckle because I remember what I wanted to be when I was younger, and it is far from what I am doing now.  Although I always had high hopes and expensive taste, my occupation of choice was a Lady Car Washer.  My parents would question whether I meant I would like to own a car wash, in which my response was always….No!!  Why would I want to own the place!?  That guy didn’t get to put the tokens into the machine and hose down the cars!

Just some food for thought…what do you remember wanting to be when you grew up, and are you fulfilling your childhood dream!?  Lucky for me, the car wash in my town closed down, so I had to look for career alternatives. 😉

2 Responses to “What did you want to be?”

  1. Audrey Morgan October 15, 2010 at 3:21 PM #

    Hey Sarah,
    In response to the first part of your post about the sleeping troubles, I know that you should not work out three (3) hours before sleeping because that is how long it takes to get the adrenaline out of your system. They say the same about the three hour rule when it comes to eating as well. They (whoever THEY is) say that the best time to work out is between 5 and 7 pm (though our schedules often prevent us from doing so).
    In response to the what did I want to be, I totally wanted to be a background dancer for Britney Spears. Never really wanted to be a princess because I did not want to have to deal with an evil stepmother. Never did I see myself being a cooker until I was 10 and I realized how much fun food can be and how delicious it tastes!!

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall October 31, 2010 at 7:22 PM #

      Thank you so much for the info! I know I shouldn’t be working out so late, but for some reason it seems that’s the only time I can drag my butt to the gym 🙂
      I love that you wanted to be a background dancer for Britney! Although I know you are going to be a culinary master, it’s never too late to lace up your dancing shoes!

Leave a Reply

