Skin Care

31 Oct

Skin care is something that is constantly on our minds. Whether we are trying a new product, reading about it in a magazine, or seeing ads on television. Our society is constantly focused on perfection and new breakthroughs. As a model, skin care is obviously something I have to stay on top of because my job is to look good. This can be a challenge however because I and just like any other girl, and breakouts can creep up without any warning. Finding the right regimen can take lots of trial and error, but once you find what works for your skin, you will be on your way to glowing complexion

Growing up, acne was never a major problem for me. I would have the occasional breakout that any typical teenage girl encounters, but nothing that ever needed serious attention. This was true up until I moved to NYC. One thing that I have learned from living in different climates and pollutant levels, is that your surroundings play a huge role in how your body releases toxins and waste. If you are living in a major city, or in a place where you skin (the largest organ in your body) is not able to breathe, there’s a greater chance that you will have to deal with breakouts more frequently than someone living in a more rural area. Growing up in New Hampshire, I certainly did not have to deal with as much dirt and grime as I did in the NYC summer heat. Consequently my face broke out to an uncontrollable level which left me searching for any answer to the problem.

Pollutants in the air can be a large contributing factor to skin problems, but you also have to look at other areas of your life such as diet and stress levels. I know from personal experience that when I am stressed, it shows greatly on my face. I can tell that I am not sleeping properly from the heavy circles under my eyes, and blemishes will begin to appear on my forehead and chin…NOT CUTE! I am a strong believer that stress is one of the major killers in our society today. Although bad skin is not life threatening, it is a way for your body to signal to you that it is on over load and something has to change. Dealing with stress is always easier said than done, but finding your “outlet” will help you put things in perspective and give your body the break it deserves. For me, my outlet is yoga. I know that if I can get myself to a class and allow myself to relax, I will always feel better afterwards.

I have always wanted to try a class on the beach

Although one yoga class won’t clear up your skin over night, it will help take the burden of stress of your body. Over a period of time, this will help to alleviate breakouts and allow your body to focus on the major functions it is built to perform.

When thinking about how diet effects your skin, I am a big believer in you are what you eat…and drink! For the most part I stick to a clean diet filled with rehydrating fruits and vegetables. I am human however, and when I go home for a little R&R or over the Holidays I tend to indulge more than I normally would. Although it tastes good in the moment, I can usually tell a few days later that I’m not properly hydrated and sometimes my skin will flare up a bit. The best advice I can give for day-to-day life is something we have all heard OVER AND OVER again. DRINK YOUR WATER! It helps your body to flush any impurities out of your system and gives your face the elasticity and resilience we all desire :).

Aside from hydration (coconut water is also an excellent tool…I drink it almost every day!) eating foods high in vitamin C has been proven to help reduce breakouts and nourish your skin. Some great foods to include in your diet include oranges, strawberries, cantaloupe, kiwi, broccoli, spinach and cauliflower. I try to include at least one source every day to make sure I’m getting a good, healthy dose. 🙂

Aside from eating vitamin C, it is also a main factor of my skin care regimen. Back when I had my first ugly breakout I was trying anything to resolve the problem. I was being seen by a dermatologist who had me on crazy pills, creams and injections. Although I really try to stay off any form of medication if I can, I was desperate and needed results fast. I found myself getting very frustrated when s few weeks went by and I still did not notice a huge improvement. It was then that I was reading an article on the amazing benefits of vitamin C for your face, and I figured it was worth a shot. I went into Sephora that same day and asked for a product with the highest concentration of vitamin C. I left with a product by Ole Henriksen called Truth Serum and figured it was worth a shot. Within a week my blemishes started to fade and I noticed a significant difference. After two weeks I decided to stop using all the harsh products my Dr had prescribed and my skin was pretty much healed a month later.

I am not implying that this is the one and only way to clear your skin because every person is different. But if you or someone you know is battling with the problems that I did it is certainly worth a shot.

To complete my skin care routine I use the vitamin C cleanser, toner and revitalizing cream by Avalon Organics. I have been very happy with all of the products I have tried by them, and the best part is that you can find them all at Target! (Oh how I love that store!). I also use St. Ives green tea exfoliator, and Keihl’s Rare Earth deep classing mask about twice a week.

Although I try to keep my skin as healthy as possible, factors such as change in season and climate can sometimes cause problems. The best thing to do however is not stress out and know that it is most likely a temporary problem that will clear up with time!

Hopefully some of this information is helpful to some people. I will be sure to write a follow-up post with answers to any questions some may have. I also think it might be interesting to ask some of my “Model buddies” how they stay beautiful :).

Before I sign off I wanted to give a little update on my current location. I escaped NYC just as it was getting chilly and packed my bikinis for South Beach!!! It’s my first time here, so I have lots of adventuring to do!
Sending positive thoughts and SUNSHINE your way!

Xx
Sarah

3 Responses to “Skin Care”

  1. Audrey November 1, 2010 at 3:47 PM #

    I use the St. Ives Green Tea Scrub too! Leaves your face feeling so clean!

    Thanks for the great tips!

  2. Lise November 12, 2010 at 2:06 PM #

    hi sarah!

    oh my gosh. My skin had the exact same reaction as you! I had NEVER experienced breakouts before, and then BAM move to NYC in feb and my face goes nuts ( this summer was the worst) and my skin is still healing from the damage… heaps of breakouts and now pigmentation from all the spots ( esp on my forehead + chin 😦 )
    I eat super healthy (vegan for 8 years…) so was even more frustrated with my skin, as i felt like i was doing everything right!!!

    i am definitely going to look into incorporating some Vit C serum/cream into my routine (i’ve found too that the less the better, i’ve used cetaphil for 10 yrs but when i started breaking out i went searching for so many lotions/potions/etc… that my skin rebelled even more) I want to try that serum but am weary it might have some adverse effects…Also everyone keeps on hyping SPF but i am just afraid it will break me out even more!

    thanks so much for sharing your beautiful knowledge and self

    i agree- you should do a model + secrets post on things that your model friends do to stay healthy, skin care routines, favorite beauty products, etc… also like investigative beauty journalism 🙂 that would be an amazing post!!!

    Well I hope you have a wonderful weekend
    thanks again

    L

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 12, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

      I am so glad my post helped out a bit!!! Honestly I know exactly what you are experiencing!! It is so frustrating!! I actually used to use cetaphil as well, but then I heard some not so good news about it so I switched to Avalon Organics! I would say the serum is worth a try…I think Sephora will even give you a sample before buying it!
      Skin is so important and when you cant control it, you can get soooo frustrated!!! I remember shelling out MAJOR moolah for fancy facials and peels and nothing worked, so when Vit C made a difference, I stuck with it!!
      After I get a few more posts under my belt (and more readers hehe) I plan on reaching out to my model friends and have them do guest postings!
      Hope you continue to check in!
      xx
      @healthymodel

Leave a Reply

