Get Your Sweat On!

10 Nov

What is your favorite way to work up a sweat?

I have never been one to keep a set routine at the gym.  I usually like to go and see what my body is looking for that day.  It is usually a combination of yoga, classes, and cardio.

I LOVE yoga!!  It is truly amazing how great a workout you get!  I always leave feeling refreshed and regenerated.  It’s a full body work out that helps improve muscle tone and posture!  Being tall, I am always having to make an effort not to slouch, and I feel that yoga has helped me tremendously.

I also like yoga because it is always a work in progress!  I love the feeling of working at something and seeing results over time!  One thing that I am not able to do as of yet is a head stand.  I can’t wait until the day that I can just kick up into one with ease!

Cardio is usually done on the treadmill, but sometimes I head to the  stair climber or bicycle.  For some reason I have never been a bit fan of the elliptical machine.  I never feel like I am getting a good cardio workout when I use one (although I most likely am).  Now that I am down in Miami, I want to start running on the beach more often!  It’s a great workout (because of the extra resistance from the sand) and also a great way to work on your tan 😉

So again I’m curious, what do you do for your daily activity and is there something new you would like to try?

8 Responses to “Get Your Sweat On!”

  1. Natalie @ cinnamonbums November 10, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

    hey sarah! i just discovered your blog via a fresh dille! love reading about your daily adventures. i am LOVING yoga right now too. i love doing some dynamic stretching and deep breathing, which feels especially good in the winter. i feel like my body gravitates towards bikram yoga in the winter, while i prefer more intense cardio like running in the summer. i also love hiking in the summer, and actually my favorite favorite workout is kickboxing!! so much fun, it doesn’t even feel like a workout!

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 10, 2010 at 3:30 PM #

      Im so glad you found me!
      I LOVE hiking too..when I was living in California I would try to go daily to Runyon Canyon! One thing that I have never been a huge fan of however is the Bikram…I always leave feeling sick to my stomach 😦
      Hope you will continue to check in…and I will be sure to follow you as well 🙂

      xx
      @healthymodel

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree November 10, 2010 at 10:45 PM #

    I play tennis every day (I have for years!). And I also lift weights twice a week. I love doing both! The tennis gives me some cardio and competition, and I’ve always been a big fan of weights. they help me feel strong 🙂

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 10, 2010 at 11:52 PM #

      I love playing tennis!! (although Im not very good at it!)
      Today I was swimming in the ocean, and it made me remember how much I used to love swimming on a team! The cardio/competition combo is a major plus!!!

  3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan November 11, 2010 at 1:41 AM #

    I WANT to like yoga, I really do…but I just can’t get into any type of it. I think I’m just way too type A =X Anyhow, I’m a runner!

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 11, 2010 at 1:56 AM #

      I was like you for the longest time…I didnt consider yoga a real workout, more of a chill session. That is until I found Vinyassa Flow Yoga! (or power yoga) WOW what a work out! (if you havent tried this type maybe give it a try!)
      I have to admit however, there is nothing like the feeling you get after a long run! I love being sweaty and tired…so rewarding!

  4. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe November 12, 2010 at 6:01 AM #

    Oh I am totally with you on the yoga. Now that I’m an instructor, I have to really focus to get my own practice in, which is kind of hard. I teach the only classes offered at my gym, and I really miss attending a class just for myself. I’m also getting more into weight training lately, and I’m enjoying it a lot to! I definitely like to have a variety because otherwise I tend to get bored.

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 12, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

      Wow you are an instructor!!?? I think that is something I want to add to my “bucket list!” I think it would be so great to be able to help people not only through word but instruction too!! CONGRATS!!!!! (If I am ever in your neck of the woods I would love to come check out one of your classes!!) 😀

Leave a Reply

