Diet Soda is the DEVIL!!!!

12 Nov

To say that I have a slight addiction to carbonated beverages would be an understatement.  I love the bubbly feeling you get when  you gulp down something ice-cold right out of the fridge!  My love affair with diet soda however, needs to end!!!

I have always been a girl with a sweet tooth, so when I first discovered Diet Drinks it seemed like the perfect option.  A super sweet and satisfying drink without the calories!  Sounds like win, win right!?

WRONG!!!!  There is absolutely nothing good about a fizzy diet drink!  The Skinny Bitches compare sodas to “crack…nearly impossible to resist once we’re hooked. But they are ruining our bodies and lives.”

I am absolutely AGAINST taking drugs!!!  Reading that analogy was enough for me to say ENOUGH!!!  No more lines of Diet Coke!  I don’t want to be considered a “drug addict!”

So what have I been doing to supplement for my evil little vice!?

I usually go for Poland Springs Raspberry Lime, but Publix didn’t have any in stock :(.

Ritz Lemon Lime Seltzer will do for now.  It tastes delicious, has no sodium, and is gives me my carbonation fix!  Its been especially nice on my wallet as well!!  At one point when I was in NY, I was paying almost $2.50 for a bottle of my “crack” at Duane Reade!!  That is insane! (Especially in this economy haha) 😉

A bottle of seltzer never costs more than a dollar a bottle and is extremely satisfying!  I would love to eventually cut out all carbonation from my life as I know it isn’t easy on my tummy…but baby steps for now!

Although I am working my hardest to ditch it completely, I know on occasion nothing else will do.  If you see me drinking diet soda, I give you permission to slap my wrist!  But know that I am only human and sometimes we just have to indulge (although this indulgence could be killing me eeeeek!!!).

So heres to a healthy Diet Soda free weekend!!!

Adios Muchachos 😀

XX

Sarah

@healthymodel

16 Responses to “Diet Soda is the DEVIL!!!!”

  1. Natalie November 12, 2010 at 8:07 PM #

    Have you considered trying a Zevia, 100% natural AND zero calorie soda?!?! I’d be happy to send you a sample or coupons! You might not have to give up soda after all . . .

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 12, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

      Hmmmm you have peaked my interest!! I would love a sample or coupon! What kind of sweetner do you use?

  2. Natalie November 12, 2010 at 10:20 PM #

    Zevia is made with stevia. Are you familiar??
    Email me your shipping address and we’ll defintely send some your way.
    Thanks!
    Natalie
    natalie@zevia.com

  3. Pure2raw twins November 13, 2010 at 12:27 AM #

    Glad you are trying to give up soda. I stopped having in about over 8 years ago and been so happy ever since. Though I still drink coffee 😉

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 13, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

      Thank you!! I am trying…but its so hard to give up old habbits 🙂 Ive been successful so far…so thats a plus!

  4. Ria November 14, 2010 at 6:39 AM #

    I’d LOVE to be able to give up on diet coke. It’s my weakness for sure.

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 15, 2010 at 6:00 PM #

      I know! and then they came out with coke zero..oh man so good..but most likely killing me…so seltzer for now 🙂

  5. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) November 14, 2010 at 12:28 PM #

    Seltzer water is awesome! I love having a cold bottle of it in my fridge. Sometimes I’ll “sweeten” it up a bit with pomegranate juice too, for a change of pace. 😀

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 15, 2010 at 6:01 PM #

      LOVE the idea of pomegranate juice!!!! Its the sweet taste I always craved in the diet soda…so I will try this for sure!

  6. Kate @ Green and Juicy November 14, 2010 at 12:50 PM #

    It’s the devil I completely agree! And people think they are choosing a HEALTHY option – the mind boggles!!
    xo kate

  7. actorsdiet November 14, 2010 at 5:24 PM #

    it’s so hard to kick the habit – i’ve done it before but i’m slipping back slowly. zevia is the best! it’s expensive though, and not widely available, like when i’m at the movies or on a road trip craving the devil…

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 15, 2010 at 6:04 PM #

      I am so excited to try Zevia…they are actually going to send me some to try! EEK Im so excited!! Stevia is a sweetner I can feel good about putting into my body 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. healthyexposures November 14, 2010 at 10:39 PM #

    Habits are hard to break – major props to you for recognizing something in your life that you want to change, and taking steps to do so 🙂 I used to love diet soda, too. I just tried the Poland Springs seltzer water the other day. I actually only bought it because I needed to use the ladies’ room at a gas station and hate going in w/o being a customer, haha. But anyways – I ended up loving it so much that I will definitely be having it whenever I get a hankering for something more exciting than plain ol’ water!

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 15, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

      Thanks so much!! I feel the same way about buying somehting if I need to use the rest room…I always feel guilty just sneaking in and out haha! Thanks for checking out my blog…and be sure try the raspberry lime by poland springs! Its my FAV!!

  9. sophia November 15, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

    Argh, I drink diet soda…I can’t break it, either. It certainly is like crack. But I wouldn’t say it’s the devil, as long as you don’t chug like 5 cans a day.

    I’ve tried Zevia. It’s pretty good! 🙂

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 15, 2010 at 6:06 PM #

      Its such a hard habit to break…and I agree there are much worse things I could be doing…but I just thought the title would be funny! haha

Leave a Reply

