Beautiful Weather and the Introduction of “Mess Bowls!”

16 Nov

Hola!!

This would be the lounge chair I am currently writing this post from!

And this would be the view from my seat!  There definitely are some perks to modeling!  I especially like that I have been able to move around a lot and experience many different ways of life.  I am certainly getting used to this! 😉

I made sure to bring my water with me to keep myself hydrated!!  Sometimes when I’m out during the day I forget to stay hydrated which is a MAJOR no-no!!  Every model knows that water is essential to keeping your skin glowing and cells hydrated!  It’s also been proven to help cut cravings.  Many times when you think your hungry, you are really just dehydrated!  I always reach for Smartwater when I have the choice…I definetly think it tastes better!  (And filled with electrolytes too!)

Now I hope I peaked your interest when I mentioned my “Mess Bowls!”  They are basically the best thing I have ever created and eat one at least once a day…if not twice!  It’s basically a BIG chopped salad, but once everything is mixed together it basically looks like a BIG MESS!!!  (and that is the way I like it!)

This one consisted of spinach

Nutritional Yeast (for amino acids and protein)

a scoop of hummus

I had doctored this one up with cilantro and zucchini in my Magic Bullet

A scoop of chickpeas and some red bell pepper!!

I put it all in my big (salad chopping) bowl (from Target) and used the big chopper and mashed it all together!  The end result tasted a bit like a nacho salad (because of the NOOCH and bell pepper combo!)

There are endless possibilities of what you can throw into these “Mess Bows,” and they will keep you satisfied for hours!!  I can’t think of a better way of getting in my greens for the day (…well, green smoothies are pretty amazing too!)

Hope you all had a GREAT day…and if you have a chance, give a Mess Bowl a try!!!!

Now Im off for a run!

Toodles 😀

15 Responses to “Beautiful Weather and the Introduction of “Mess Bowls!””

  1. Sam Woods November 16, 2010 at 11:22 PM #

    I use coconut waters to hydrate because sometimes I need some flavor to keep my taste buds interested and to keep me drinking water all throughout the day! Hows running been? I know you were trying to make it a regular routine! Its getting difficult for me to get to the gym now that is getting cold. I would just much rather run outside! Hope everything is going well and love your blog- full of great ideas!-Sam

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 17, 2010 at 12:54 AM #

      I LOVE coconut water too!! especially right from the coconut…mmmm nothing better!!
      Running has been great…I actually think Im going to be signing up for the Disney Princess half marathon eeek!! So excited!!
      Thanks so much for reading! Im having tons of fun writing it 🙂

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan November 17, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    What a gorgeous view you got to enjoy!

  3. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) November 17, 2010 at 11:02 AM #

    Oh my word. That view is gorgeous. Have FUN! 😀

    I’m big into mess bowls for salads and yogurts and things like that. So much nutrition, so much flavor. Yum! 😀

  4. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe November 17, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    Love the view! And I love Smartwater….I always go for it when I have the choice too!

    Your “mess bowl” looks awesome! It reminds me of those new salad restaurants where they let you choose your toppings and then they chop it all up before putting it in the bowl. I love those places!

    Thanks for reminding me about nutritional yeast. I have some in my fridge, but I haven’t used it in awhile. I love that stuff:)

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 17, 2010 at 8:36 PM #

      I LOVE Nutritional Yeast!! Especially since I dont eat meat…I feel like my hair is much more healthy when I add it to my diet!!
      Haha, I actually got the idea for these salads from those places!! I just hate how there you have to pay for each topping..I like to have a wide variety in mine!

  5. Pure2raw twins November 17, 2010 at 3:38 PM #

    I like the mess bowl!! Nutritional yeast is the best 😉

    I agree I like smartwater when I am traveling for my water of choice.

  6. Emily @ For Sweets Sake November 17, 2010 at 4:14 PM #

    I love smartwater! It’s great! And your mess bowl looks yumm! I love adding hummus to my salads. I think it makes them so much more filling.

  7. hbobier November 18, 2010 at 1:31 PM #

    I have that exact canister of Nutritional Yeast!!! I just used some this morning, actually. In my tofu tortilla wrap. 🙂

    And I’m sooo jealous of the palm tree/pool action you have going on there. We’ve still got snow up here, and from what I hear we’re only going to get more next week…

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 18, 2010 at 6:00 PM #

      Haha it was so funny when I went to Whole Foods and asked for the NOOCH…I was looking for a shaker bottle but they only had the HUGE cans…I thought to myself oh geesh, Ill never finish this! haha I was soooo wrong, Ive already gone through half the can in a matter of a few weeks!! SOOOO Yummy!!!!

  8. couchpotatoathlete November 19, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    I love SmartWater — not sure if I even can taste a difference, I just like the bottle!

    Those palm trees are gorgeous!!! So jealous since I see snow when I look out the window! 😦

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 19, 2010 at 6:49 PM #

      I know I feel a bit spoinled by the view!! Im originally from the North, so Im used to seeing snow by this time of the year! I think Im going to have to bundle up more than usual when I go home for Christmas since Ive gotten used to the beautiful weather!

Leave a Reply

