Funny Story to Start Off Your Week!

22 Nov

Good Morning!!!

I believe the best way to start off this Holiday week is with a funny (personal) story!  Which will leave you in a Cliff Hanger…until tomorrow 😀

We have all been there…those moments in life where we would much rather be hiding in a garbage can than to be in that exact place, at that exact time.  This seems to be a regular occurrence in my life…and for that I am grateful.

Grateful!?  You must be thinking to yourself, “WOW, this chick is CRAZY!”

Yes, you are probably, most likely right.  I’ll admit to having a little crazy stored up in me, and for that I am grateful!  You see, without these little moments in our life, how will we ever be able to learn life’s little lessons that end up making us that much stronger?  Plus, if you can’t laugh at yourself…whats the point!?  A great sense of humor has brought me through many embarrassing moments where I have been able to get up, wipe the dirt off my knees, and laugh hysterically until I’ve made my point…its life, it happens, and its FUNNY!!!

So, on to my story….

Picture this…Girl (that would be me!) has decided to move out to LA for a little while to work and experience California Living. Having been based in NYC for some time, a car has not been a necessity in her life…up until now.  What is she to do?

Well, all through High School I was lucky enough to have a car that I considered pretty cool.  Although it was a monster of a vehicle (Toyota Sequoia), it certainly wasn’t an old ’85 Buick with the bumper falling off.  For that I was grateful!

So you can only imagine the horror when my dad decided to buy my brother and I a great car that “got great gas mileage, was safe and dependable, and was barely ever used!”

Yes, I would be referring to the 1997 silver Subaru Legacy WAGON with a broken front bumper and I LOVE Cats sticker on the back.  He had purchase this “gem” off a buddy at work whose mother had grown ill and was no longer in need of a car (I think she was headed to The Home to be exact).

To further comfort me on the magnitude of this AMAZING deal, he explained that “the car was really just there to make her weekly trips to the store for groceries and Wal-Mart for her meds!  So basically ,it was like new!”   (Did I mention this woman had an affinity for cough drops and must have LOVED the smell of moth balls!?)

Yes Dad…pretty much new…except for the fact that it was made in 1997, had taken a beating in the front (Tiger Woods knows what I’m talking about) and had already been blemished with undying love for kitty cats!  I Love my cats…dont get me wrong, but I didn’t need to be declaring my love for all the world (or Southern New Hampshire) to see!

Yes, I probably sound like a brat at this point, but my exaggeration of this “dramatic” situation only lends to make the story that much more hilarious in the end!

I told him the Junker belonged in Northern Vermont “with the crunchy granola set,”(nothing against the area, its beautiful I swear!)  But you don’t understand…with only a week left in the school year I was demoted to what I saw as a Mule compared to the Black Stallion I had grown accustomed to driving. 😉

Flash forward about a year and a half later.

When I left home after graduating high school, and moved to Manhattan, I thought my embarrassing car days were over.  No longer would I need a vehicle to transport me around because I could use this snazzy invention called the MTA!  So, I found myself in quiet the predicament when I decided to move out west where I would need a car to get me around.  (Unfortunately, the bus system in LA is pretty much useless…a bunch of lines that lead to no where 😦 )

During the time that I had moved away, my little brother had grown up (when did that happen!!??)  and had started to drive.  He, however, did not see the Subaru as a shabby hand-me-down…it was his Chariot!  He had beautifully decorated the right side of the car with multiple dirt bike and snowmobiling team logos, kept a lethal amount of air-fresheners hanging from the front mirror and was proud of the DUCT TAPE my dad had adhered to the front bumper to keep it from falling off.  Needless to say, old Betty had continued to age…and not in such a graceful manner!

You can only imagine how horrible I felt having to ask to take it with me to California.  He was crushed!  I would have gladly taken any of our other cars, but alas, they were not practical for gridlock traffic and tiny parking spaces LA is known for.

So, Old Betty was driven onto a car transporter and shipped out to The City of Angels, where I would later meet up with it in Beverly Hills.  Yes, you read that right, the 90210 was where I got my feet on the ground while looking for apartments in the neighboring West Hollywood area.  One of our DEAREST family friends grew-up, and continues to live there.  She was gracious enough to let me crash with her until I got my bearings in the new big city!

My Subaru didn’t exactly fit in with all the other cars parked on her street.  Mr. Bently and Ms Mercedes had never seen such a thing propped up on four wheels…I figured it was my way of giving them a cultural experience!

(Yes I realize I am making it seem like I’m a drama queen, but again…this is my theatrical interpretation of the situation…hey that rhymes!)

Anyways, after about a week I enlisted the help of one of the neighbors I had grown friendly with to help me remove my brother’s side panel… “door stickering?”  I figured it was the least I could do to help Old Betty to “fit in” with all the cool kids!

Although there were countless mornings where my car refused to start (until about the millionth try) I learned to appreciate my car as it got me where I needed to go.  Somewhere VERY DEEP down inside, I think I actually became fond of my little “silver bullet.”  I was unique when I drove her down Rodeo Drive, (kind of like I was driving a cool foreign car no one had EVER seen before), because litterally…it was the only Subaru within a 20 mile radius.  I would be amused to find out if they even sell Subarus out there, it seems to me they are more of a New England car…built to make it though rain, snow, sleet and hail!  A practical car seems like the right description?

 

 

 

 

Now that I have your attention I hate to break it to you but…

To Be Continued……

 

Chip Chip Cheerio!!!  Hope your Monday is FANTASTIC and you are all ready for this Thursday!!!

What are you thankful for this year?

9 Responses to “Funny Story to Start Off Your Week!”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun November 22, 2010 at 7:51 PM #

    I hate cliffhangers! I can only imagine some of the looks and things you received. Sounds like it was a good car though!

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 23, 2010 at 12:50 AM #

      Dont worry…I will finish the story soon! haha
      I know, I hate cliffhangers too…but my story was just getting too long! haha
      Thanks for checking out my blog!!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree November 23, 2010 at 12:03 PM #

    This is so good! I can’t wait to read the rest 🙂

  3. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe November 23, 2010 at 2:55 PM #

    You’re killing us! 🙂

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall November 24, 2010 at 1:57 AM #

      ahhhhh sorry!!
      long travel day…need to get writing juices flowing again!! haha

  4. Audrey Morgan November 23, 2010 at 9:02 PM #

    I have a subaru forester. They aren’t surprised when I say I am from NH. But then again, I go to school in NY where Subarus fit right in, so I can’t say I feel your pain….funny story though

  5. Carrie (Love Healthy Living) November 23, 2010 at 9:27 PM #

    Looking forward to the rest of the story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

