Saying Goodbye to an Old Friend

21 Jan

For those of you who know me well…you will recognize this adorable face without any hesitation.  Tucker was one of the most kind and gently souls I have ever encountered in a dog.  I can still remember the first time holding him in my arms when he was just a furry little puff-ball.

This morning I work to 4 missed calls and a text message from my mom…Tucker is no longer with us.

Hearing the words were painful, he had been through so much with me over the past 14 years.  I remember when I was younger taking him out in the yard to talk if I had to get some thing off my chest.  He was always a good sport and allowed us to dress him up in Santa hats around Christmas.  And he acted as the neighborhood pet when the other kids were working on convincing their parents to allow them to get  a dog.

Tucker never barked and was patient with all our other pets.  Even when he was most annoyed he would just look up at us and communicate through his doe-like eyes.

I loved the little guy, and it makes me so sad that I am so far away and couldn’t say good-bye.

I wish I could say that I took the news lightly this morning, but wailing was pretty much how I reacted.  My stomach is all up in knots, and my desire to hug a Big loveable Golden like Tucker is uncontrollable at the moment.

I wanted to share the news because I know so many people in my life have come to fall in love with my main man!

We love you Tuck-tuck…may you rest gracefully and continue to watch over us no matter where in the world we may be!

13 Responses to “Saying Goodbye to an Old Friend”

  1. Audrey Morgan January 21, 2011 at 3:37 PM #

    Sarah,
    They (whoever “they” is) say all dogs go to heaven…so from up in those beautiful skies, he is having the time of his life. And since in heaven anything is possible, he can read so I am sure he adores your good-bye post. It was very heartfelt and I even teared up a bit. I am so sorry for your loss.

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall January 22, 2011 at 9:14 PM #

      I bet he is living it up with his brother Jack and sister Sadie! They were the party dogs so Im sure they are showing him a good time 🙂
      Thank you so much, support from friends always helps

  2. Chris Flanagan January 21, 2011 at 8:48 PM #

    Oh Sarah, I am so sorry for your loss. I look at the beautiful picture of Tucker and it made me cry. We too have had our Tuckers, Shane and Mykah and they were such beautiful loyal friends and only asked for some love in return. I am sure you and your family will feel his absence in your lives.

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall January 22, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

      Thank you so much! It is so true that all they ever want is your love, Tucker was such a gentle soul and I know he lived a great life! Just wish I could have been home to see him one last time.

  3. Pamela Correia January 21, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

    Oh Sarah, this is such a very sad time for you and your family. Pets bring so much love, happiness and joy into our lives. I hope you are able to cherish all of the wonderful memories you had with your wonderful dog. Time heals all wounds and pictures are a great reminder of what a special, beloved pet your Tucker was. Sending big hugs your way.
    Pamela Correia

    • sarahnotsoplainandtall January 22, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

      Thank you! We will miss him but at least he is no longer in pain. I will cherish all my pictures for a life time!

  4. Melissa January 21, 2011 at 9:46 PM #

    Sorry about your dog. He looks really pretty/

  5. Pure2raw twins January 22, 2011 at 1:03 AM #

    Sorry to hear about your dog. You are in my thoughts and prayers, losing a pet is never easy. sending lots of hugs.

  6. Chelsie pack January 22, 2011 at 6:10 PM #

    Awe Im so sorry Sarah, that is never easy. Give my love to everyone

  7. candicemccoy January 27, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    Sarah – so sorry I’m coming in late on this! I’m sorry for your loss of your sweet dog. It is so difficult to lose a pet, especially when you were so close to him. I hope you’re able to focus on all the wonderful times you had with him and all the happiness he brought. Loss is so hard, but it’s an inevitable part of loving.

Leave a Reply

