I’m Home…and Getting Crafty in the Kitchen!

3 Apr

Oh boy its been a while since I’ve posted on here!

I had a ball this winter in Miami and barely found time to stop long enough to think of something interesting to write ūüėČ

Sometimes when I’m living on my own I find myself getting into a food rut…If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! ¬†Hahahaha

Many dinners consisted of hummus and veggies or avocado sammies! ¬†Although I love eating these…I dont think it makes for very interesting content!

Well…Now Im home with my family in NH!! ¬†Although I miss the BEAUTIFUL Florida sunshine…its been nice to get a full dose of fresh New England air! ¬†Today we have the windows and doors open and I can see some flowers trying to peek through the ground!

I love being home with my family because it means I can get crafty in the kitchen! ¬†Although the boys aren’t always so keen on trying my healthier dishes…I do spoil them with some comfort favorites! ¬†Last night dad put in a request for homemade mac and cheese with peas! ¬†(Oh the simple things that make them so happy!)

Normally mac and cheese wouldn’t be something I would make for myself (especially since I try to avoid dairy), I am a strong believer in not pushing my ideas on others (I simple suggest and inform!) ¬†I gladly made up a batch…but was sure to use all organic dairy products to ensure it was as “healthy” as it could be ūüėČ

For Mom and I, I whipped up something quick and easy that was both healthy and delicious! ¬†It was a quick quinoa and black bean salad…but mom couldn’t stop talking about it! ¬†(Shes just so cute!)

“Sarah you have to put this on your blog…My friends will LOVE this!!”

so here it is…

Quinoa and Black Bean Fiesta!!

1 C Quinoa

2C Low Sodium Vegetable Broth

1 C Black Beans

1 C Cherry Tomatoes

1 Red Bell Pepper

1/4 C chopped Green Onion

1/4 C Red Onion

Large Handful Cilantro

Dressing

Juice of 2 Limes

1/3 C Olive Oil

1 Large Garlic Clove diced

Sea Salt

 

Boil the quinoa in the vegetable broth until all the liquid is evaporated.  Chop the vegetables and mix all together with the quinoa.  Wisk the dressing ingredients together in a separate bowl and add to the vegetable mixture.

Enjoy!!!!

It’s as simple as that!! ¬†We enjoyed it on its own, but you could also add a scoop to a bed of lettuce! ¬†This salad is even better the next day after it has sat in the dressing for a while!

…So I can’t wait for lunch today!

 

XX

Sarah


 

3 Responses to “I’m Home…and Getting Crafty in the Kitchen!”

  1. Audrey Morgan April 16, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

    That black bean and quinoa salad sounds like the perfect lunch for a nice spring day! I wrote down the recipe and cannot wait to try it!

  2. Jean Rayner April 22, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

    Sounds really good, must try it. Never heard of quinoa but I’ve looked it up. Not sure if I can find it in the UK, but we have couscous. Cilantro is what we call oregano, readily available.

Leave a Reply

